Govt to encourage banana cultivation in non-traditional states

The future of agriculture is here…. Ready?
March 27, 2018
आईसीएआर अनुसंधान कार्यक्रमों में खाद्य सुरक्षा को प्राथमिकता
March 28, 2018
Show all

Govt to encourage banana cultivation in non-traditional states

AgriNation Nwes Network

New Delhi. 28 March 2018

The Government is encouraging banana cultivation through sensitization, training, supply of quality planting material and other inputs.  Besides, Govt. has introduced CHAMAN (Co-ordinated Horticulture Assessment and Management Using geoiNformatics) Scheme for 7 horticultural crops (Potato, Onion, Chilli, Tomato, Mango, Banana and Citrus) in 12 major states in 180 districts to carry out research on horticultural crop condition studies, diseases assessment and precision farming.

The Government has identified the States which are environmentally more suitable for cultivation of bananas and sugarcane other than the current major producing states. The Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Parshottam Rupala Informed that Banana & Sugarcane are being cultivated in Tropical and subtropical areas of the country due to suitable agro-climatic conditions and availability of adequate irrigation facility.

The Government has recognized the states of Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand etc. as non-traditional states for banana cultivation.  States where banana was grown as a back-yard crop have also taken up commercial cultivation especially North Eastern states like Tripura, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Manipur, Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Sugarcane is being cultivated mainly in the states of Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Gujarat, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Haryana.  However, there is very little scope to extend the sugarcane area in other states of the country.